A United Research Effort

HD(CP)² brings together more than 100 scientists from 19 different institutes all over Germany. Altogether there are 46 PhD student and Postdoc positions associated with the project, making HD(CP)² a vivid example for the scientific leadership of young researchers. In its second funding period the project's core elements are science teams consisting of people from many different institutes in order to answer these striking meteorological questions:

  • How do clouds respond to pertubations in their aerosol environment?
  • What are controlling factors for boundary layer clouds?
  • What are controlling factors for anvil cloud development?
  • To what extent does land-surface heterogeneity control clouds and precipitation?
  • To what extent is convective organization important for climate?
  • How do clouds and convection influence the development of the storm tracks?

HD(CP)² is a BMBF funded Germany-wide research initiative to improve our understanding of cloud and precipitation processes and their implications for climate prediction.

Participating Institutes


Deutsches Klimarechenzentrum (DKRZ)   Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD)    Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)  Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ)  Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ)  Freie Universiät Berlin (FUB)  Goethe-Universität Frankfurt (GUF)  Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (JGU)  Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)  Konrad-Zuse-Zentrum für Informationstechnik Berlin (ZIB)  Leibniz-Institut für Troposphärenforschung (TROPOS)  Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH)  Ludwig Maximilians-Universität München (LMU)  Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie (MPI)  Regionales Rechenzentrum der Universität zu Köln (RRZK)  Universität Bonn (UBN)  Universität Hamburg (UHH)  Universität Hohenheim (UHO)  Universität Leipzig (UL)  Universität zu Köln (UzK)


Steering Committee

                               Dr. Joachim Biercamp (DKRZ)       Dr. Ulrike Burkhardt (DLR)        Prof. Dr. Susanne Crewell (UzK)


                           Prof. Dr. Andreas Macke (TROPOS) Prof. Dr. Johannes Quaas (UL)            Dr. Axel Seifert (DWD)

                            Prof. Dr. Clemens Simmer (UBN)     Prof. Dr. Björn Stevens (MPI)             Dr. Aiko Voigt (KIT)

Scientific Advisory Board

                                                      Prof. Dr. Sandrine Bony (CNRS)   Prof. Dr. Christoph Schär (ETHZ)

                               Prof. Dr. Thomas Schulthess (ETHZ)  Prof. Dr. Pier Siebesma (TU Delft)  Prof. Dr. Thomas Ackermann (JISAO)

Project Management

Dr. Wiebke Schubotz (Opens window for sending emailE-Mail)

Max Planck Institute for Meteorology

Bundesstraße 53

D-20146 Hamburg

Phone: +49 40 41173 125


Back to top